allen and roth countertops
allen and roth countertops come two ways at Lowe’s. allen and roth butcher block, in acacia or hevea, sits on the shelf as 1.5-in tops that you finish and fit yourself. Quartz, solid surface and granite are measured, cut and installed for you, and are warranted by Sage Surfaces.
Here is how to choose between them, which woods and stone colors exist, and how to seal butcher block so it stays flat.
Chevron acacia butcher block, the 8-ft top
- Size
- 96 x 25 x 1.5 in
- Wood
- Finger-jointed solid acacia, chevron pattern
- Finish
- None: seal every face before use
- Owner rating
- 4.5 out of 5 from 209 Lowe’s reviews
- Item / model
- 5200809 / ARF1525CHACA-96
Butcher block, quartz, solid surface or granite
The real split is who does the work. Butcher block is a top you finish and fit yourself. The stone tops are a Lowe’s installation with a long warranty, as long as Sage’s rules are followed.
| Butcher block | Quartz | Solid surface | Granite | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How you buy it | Off the shelf; you cut, finish and fit it | A Lowe’s project: consultation, quote, in-home template, fabrication and install. Online, only 4 x 4 in samples | ||
| Thickness | 1.5 in | Not in the listings we read | Not in the listings we read | 2, 3 or 4 cm slabs, per Sage’s brochure |
| Sealing | Every face, before install | None needed, per the listing | Not stated; sold as renewable and repairable | Comes pre-sealed |
| Heat | No hot pans, says the install guide | Listed as heat resistant, but the warranty excludes heat marks | One owner found it is not heat-safe | Not stated in the listing |
| Warranty | None printed; a brand reply on Lowe’s cites 90 days for defects | 30-year transferable, with a Sage-authorized installer | 30-year transferable | 30-year transferable sealant warranty |
| Who stands behind it | No supplier named in the guide; the brand team answers on Lowe’s reviews | Sage Surfaces, LLC, of Magnolia, Texas, plus Lowe’s one-year warranty on the installation | ||
allen and roth butcher block
Two woods, both finger-jointed from strips and 1.5 in thick: acacia, sold natural, in a chevron pattern or pre-stained, and hevea, which is rubberwood. There is also an 8-ft acacia backsplash, 4 in high and 0.75 in thick.
Acacia, natural
Straight finger-jointed strips
4, 6 and 8 ft long, 25 in deep
Acacia, chevron
The pattern owners sometimes call herringbone
8 ft long, 25 in deep
Hevea, natural
Rubberwood, finger-jointed
4, 5, 6, 8 and 10 ft long, 25, 30 or 39 in deep
Acacia, espresso stain
Pre-stained, titled matte
4 and 8 ft long
Acacia, spice stain
Pre-stained, titled matte
4 and 8 ft long
Samples are drawn, not photographed: strip widths and stain colors are approximate. All tops are 1.5 in thick; sizes are the ones Lowe's lists.
Herringbone or walnut? We found no separate allen + roth herringbone or walnut listing. The patterned top is sold as chevron acacia.
True butcher block? A Reddit thread in r/woodworking points out the acacia is a side-grain panel rather than an end-grain block, and expects it to need sanding.
Sinks and islands. A sink can be cut into any of them if the cut edges are sealed. Lowe’s reviewers mention the 6 ft x 39 in size for islands. If the base cabinets are new too, see allen + roth cabinets for the boxes and sizes.
How to seal allen and roth butcher block
Warping and cupping are the top complaint, and the brand’s answer is the finish. Lowe’s ships the tops bare and suggests asking a paint and stain associate about oils or varnishes; owners have used tung oil, and Minwax stain with polyurethane on desks.
At pickup
Check corners and glue lines. Owners have found a corner split along a glue line, dented edges, glue spots and tops that were slightly warped or out of square. One buyer who collected three tops from two stores found that one store had handled them poorly.
72 hours
Let it acclimate. The installation guide says to leave the top in the room for 72 hours before installing, stored flat.
Before install
Seal every face the same way. The tops come unfinished. Seal the top, the underside and every edge equally. That was the brand's own answer to an owner whose tops cupped. Use a food-safe finish where you prepare food. Acacia is thirsty: one owner needed several coats of stain before the sealer.
Sink cutout
Seal the cut edges too. A sink can be cut in if the cut edges are sealed. Leave 1/4 in of space around the sink. One owner's acacia top split while the sink hole was being cut.
Install day
Let it move. Leave a 1/8 in gap at the walls. Fix it with #10 wood screws and washers every 12 to 18 in, through 3/8 in expansion holes in the sub-top, and do not glue or caulk it down. Put aluminum flashing over a dishwasher and corbels at least every 24 in under an overhang of 8 in or more.
Every day
Keep water and heat off it. No standing water, no hot pans and no cutting directly on the top.
When it marks
Sand and refinish. Sand light scratches or burns with 120-grit paper and refinish. For a dent, steam it with a damp towel and an iron, let it dry, sand with 220 grit along the grain, then refinish.
From the allen + roth butcher block installation guide, the Lowe’s listing, Lowe’s butcher block care sheet and owner reviews. The guide prints no re-oiling interval, so follow the directions for the finish you choose.
allen and roth butcher block countertops reviews


Product photos: Lowe’s.
- Hevea, 8 ft x 25 in4.6 from 854
- Acacia, 6 ft x 25 in4.5 from 569
- Chevron acacia, 8 ft x 25 in4.5 from 209
Lowe’s ratings out of 5. Some review pages pool several sizes of the same wood.
What owners like
The grain and the chevron pattern, how easy the tops are to work, and how well they take stain and polyurethane. One owner who finished a chevron top in tung oil called it a little work but worth it.
What owners report
Hevea slabs of 10 ft and 6 ft that warped, a top that was not square, and an acacia top that cupped. Others found edge dents and glue spots to sand out, a corner split along a glue line, and a top that split while the sink hole was cut. A YouTube reviewer found holes and a wavy surface that took hours of sanding.
In November 2025 a law firm announced it was looking into cracking hevea tops bought in 2024 and 2025. That is an investigation, not a recall, and no lawsuit was mentioned.
allen and roth quartz countertops
Online, Lowe’s sells allen + roth quartz only as 4 x 4 in samples; the countertop itself is made to order. These are the colors with a listing description or an owner report, including the names people search for most.
| Color | How it looks | Also worth knowing | Sample item / model |
|---|---|---|---|
| Splendor | Bold golden veins on a soft white base, a marble look | Listed as non-porous with no sealing needed, and a 30-year transferable warranty | 6033017 / 331702-CS |
| Alluring | Crisp white with subtle gray particles | 30-year transferable warranty | 1154825 / NRU613 |
| Sugarbrush | Off-white | An older listing that still says lifetime limited warranty. One owner saw dull areas in daylight and was told it was the color | 149977 / NRU601 |
| Peaceful | No Lowe's description we could read | One owner said it looks cream online but not in person, and was very happy with it | Model 1ARB265W |
| Silver Lining | No Lowe's description we could read | Sold as a sample at Lowe's | Listing 5016380451 |
Chips are drawn from the listing descriptions, not matched to the stone; colors without a description get none. Other quartz names in Lowe's sample listings: Dove Lace, Orion, Skyward, Calacatta Abezzo, Ventina, Turpan, Divinity, Powdercrest, Cosmic Vapor and Glymur.

Who makes allen and roth quartz
Sage Surfaces, LLC, of Magnolia, Texas, markets and warrants it, but no document we found names the company that makes the slabs. One Houzz poster said a Sage rep would only call it a large quartz producer; after comparing samples, that owner guessed Silestone, which is a guess and nothing more.
Alluring quartz sample. Photo: Lowe’s.
allen and roth solid surface countertops and granite
Solid surface
Lowe’s sample listings include Solstice, an off-white, and Terrazzo Roma, a white. The listing promises nearly invisible seams and a surface that can be renewed and repaired, with a 30-year transferable warranty.
An owner who blogged about her Tularosa tops found the seams nearly invisible and light scratches easy to buff out, but learned it is not heat-safe. A commenter’s Mendenhall top scratched under ordinary dishes. In a Reddit thread about allen + roth Sea Glass counters, the top answer said they were solid surface, not quartz, so check which material a color is.
Granite
Serenity Brown is a leathered granite with a creamy white base and brown and gray swirls. It comes pre-sealed with a 30-year transferable sealant warranty, and the listing says it is UV resistant for outdoor use.
Sage’s 2019 to 2020 granite brochure lists colors such as Fantasy Brown, Ubatuba, Blue Pearl, Black Pearl, Sierra Blanca and Azul Platina, in 2, 3 and 4 cm slabs. One Houzz poster felt the granite was ordinary stoneyard stone at a markup.
- Eased
- Bullnose
- Half bullnose
- Bevel
- Double radius
- Ogee
Edge names from the allen + roth granite brochure (2019 to 2020). Shapes show the profile, not exact radii.
How Lowe’s installs quartz, solid surface and granite
- Consultation. Free, in a store or online.
- Quote. Lowe’s prices the job.
- Template. After you pay, an independent installer measures in your home and makes a custom template.
- Fabrication. The slab is cut to the template.
- Install. The installer schedules removal of the old tops and fits the new ones.
- Quartz warranty
- 30 years, residential, interior, U.S. and Canada, including reasonable labor
- Condition
- Installed by a Sage-authorized fabricator or installer
- Not covered
- Seams, heat marks, chips, color variance, and tops moved from the original install
- Transfer
- At sagesurfaces.com, under Surfaces, Warranty Transfer. One version of Sage’s warranty page also says non-transferrable, so confirm with Sage before you rely on it.
- Sage Surfaces
- 877-648-3706
- Installation
- One-year warranty from Lowe’s
allen and roth countertop questions
Who makes allen and roth quartz countertops?
Sage Surfaces, LLC markets and warrants allen + roth quartz, solid surface and granite. The company that makes the quartz slabs is not named in any document we found.
Where is allen and roth quartz manufactured?
Neither Lowe’s nor Sage says. The warranty covers tops installed in the U.S. and Canada, and Sage is based in Magnolia, Texas.
What wood is allen and roth butcher block?
Acacia or hevea, which is rubberwood. Both are finger-jointed and 1.5 in thick; acacia also comes in a chevron pattern and in espresso or spice stain.
Do I have to seal allen and roth butcher block?
Yes. The natural tops come unfinished, and Lowe’s says to seal the top, the bottom and every edge. Sealing all faces the same way is also the brand’s advice for stopping cupping.
Can I cut a sink into allen and roth butcher block?
Yes, as long as you seal the cut edges. The installation guide asks for 1/4 in of space around the sink.
Does allen and roth quartz need sealing?
No. The Splendor listing describes the quartz as non-porous with no sealing needed. Granite comes pre-sealed.
Can I buy an allen and roth quartz countertop online?
Only the 4 x 4 in samples. The countertop is a Lowe’s installation that starts with a consultation and an in-home template.
Do allen and roth countertops have a warranty?
Quartz and solid surface carry 30-year transferable warranties from Sage, and Serenity Brown granite a 30-year transferable sealant warranty. The butcher block guide prints no warranty, though a brand reply on Lowe’s mentions 90 days for manufacturing defects.