allen and roth wall plates

allen and roth wall plates are the switch plates and outlet covers Lowe’s sells under its house brand, from 1 to 4 gangs, in collections such as Cosgrove, Capitol, Architectural and Subway. Lowe’s listing titles spell out the plate in one line: gang count, finish, opening type, material and size.

This page decodes those titles so the plate you bring home fits the switches and outlets in your box, in a finish that suits the room.

allen + roth 3-gang brushed nickel decorator wall plate with beveled edges, model MWP2907-024L

Bevel 3-gang decorator plate

Openings
Three decorator openings
Finish
Brushed nickel, Q-Seal coating
Material
Nickel
Size
Standard
Item / model
4896594 / MWP2907-024L

allen and roth switch plates and outlet covers

Lowe’s writes every allen + roth plate title in the same order. Read it left to right and check each part against what is in your wall.

allen + roth3-Ganghow many devicesBrushed NickelfinishDecoratoropening typeNickelmaterialStandardsizeWall Plate

The title of the Bevel plate pictured above, as Lowe’s lists it.

Opening types

ToggleA narrow slot for a flip-up toggle switch.
DecoratorA large rectangle for a rocker switch or a GFCI outlet.
DuplexTwo openings for a standard outlet.
BlankNo opening at all, to cover a box with nothing in it.
Toggle/DuplexA switch and an outlet side by side on one plate.
Toggle/DecoratorA toggle switch beside a rocker switch or GFCI.

Lowe’s also uses “Square” for the opening on some wood decorator-style plates. Drawings follow the proportions of the Cosgrove 2-gang plate, listed at 5 x 4.86 in; openings are drawn to show the type, not to measure.

allen and roth wall plate sizes

Two numbers decide the fit. The gang count is how many switches and outlets sit side by side in one box, and Lowe’s sells allen + roth plates from 1 to 4. The size class, Standard, Midsize or Specialty, is the size of the plate itself.

1-gang
2-gang
3-gang
4-gang

Standard, Midsize and Specialty

Standard
Bevel, Subway, Somerset, Crystelle, most Capitol plates and the matte black steel duplex.
Midsize
Architectural and Beadboard in natural fiber, and the light wood blank and square plates. One owner used Beadboard plates to cover gaps between the switches and the box.
Specialty
Some Capitol plates, such as the 3-gang decorator. The listings do not say how this size differs.

You will not find “jumbo” or “midway” on allen + roth plates at Lowe’s. Go by the size word in the title.

StandardIt covers the box, but a ragged wall opening around the box still shows at the edges.
MidsizeThe larger plate hides the same ragged opening.

Drawn to show the idea, not to scale: Lowe's does not list the dimensions of each size class, so compare the plate's listed size with your old plate before you buy.

allen and roth wall plate collections

The collection sets the material and the look; the finish is the color. Nickel, gold and oil-rubbed bronze also run through allen + roth faucets and lighting, which makes a bathroom easy to match.

allen + roth wall plate collections with material, finishes, opening types and size
CollectionMaterialFinishesOpenings seenSize
CosgroveZinc
  • Oil-rubbed bronze
  • Satin nickel
  • Antique brass
Toggle, decorator, duplex; 2-gang toggleNot stated
CapitolComposite wood
  • White
Toggle, decorator, duplex; up to 3-gangStandard, Specialty
ArchitecturalNatural fiber
  • Pure white
Toggle, decorator, blank, toggle/duplex; up to 3-gangMidsize
BeadboardNatural fiber
  • Pure white
Toggle; 2-gangMidsize
SomersetCast stone
  • Bright white, white
Toggle, decorator, duplex; up to 3-gangStandard
SubwayCast stone
  • Polished white, Q-Seal antimicrobial coating
Decorator; 2-gangStandard
BevelNickel
  • Brushed nickel, Q-Seal coating
Decorator; 3-gangStandard
CrystelleZinc
  • Brushed gold
Duplex; 1-gangStandard
FairhopePlastic, per a Walmart listing
  • White wash
  • Brushed pewter
Duplex, toggleNot stated

From Lowe’s allen + roth wall plate listings, except Fairhope, found only on Walmart.com and eBay. Lowe’s also files Winslow plates and unnamed allen + roth plates under the brand, such as a 1-gang matte black steel duplex and light wood blank plates. Chatham appears only as a single duplex plate on a store delivery app. One Sand decorator plate in the Somerset listing is branded Somerset Collection, not allen + roth. Finish swatches are approximate.

Decorative metal wall plates from the allen + roth Linden and Brainerd Ironton lines, recalled in 2016 because they can short an outlet

Recall, March 2016: about 374,000 allen + roth Linden and Brainerd Ironton decorative metal wall plates, sold from January 2013 to January 2016, were recalled because the plate can come off its backplate and short the outlet, a shock and fire hazard. Liberty Hardware offered a full refund. We found no Linden collection in Lowe’s current allen + roth listings. Recall contacts and every allen + roth recall.Photo: U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

allen + roth Architectural 3-gang pure white natural fiber toggle wall plate, midsize
3-gang Pure White toggle plate, item 86260. Photo: Lowe’s

allen and roth architectural wall plates

Lowe’s sells these as the Pure White Architectural Wall Plate Collection: natural fiber plates in pure white, midsize, with matching machine screws.

They come as 1-gang toggle, decorator, blank and toggle/duplex plates, and as 2-gang and 3-gang toggles. The Beadboard plates are the same pure white natural fiber at midsize. Both rate 4.8 out of 5 at Lowe’s.

4.8
3-gang Architectural toggle138 Lowe’s reviews, item 86260, model DWP00002
4.8
2-gang Beadboard toggle130 Lowe’s reviews, item 297659, model DWP00014

Owners call them a clear step up from basic plastic covers, with a classic, light look, and one used the larger midsize plates to hide gaps between the switches and the box. Lowe’s summary of the Beadboard reviews notes a few mentions of small paint flaws and of the plate running slightly larger.

allen and roth wall plate questions

What size wall plate do I need?

Count the switches and outlets side by side in the box for the gang count, then match each opening: toggle, decorator or duplex. Most allen + roth plates are Standard. Architectural and Beadboard plates are Midsize, a little larger, and one owner used them to hide gaps around the box.

What is the difference between toggle, decorator and duplex plates?

A toggle plate has a narrow slot for a flip switch. A decorator plate has a large rectangular opening for rocker switches and GFCI outlets. A duplex plate has two openings for a standard outlet. See the drawings.

What are allen and roth wall plates made of?

It depends on the collection: zinc for Cosgrove and Crystelle, nickel for Bevel, cast stone for Somerset and Subway, composite wood for Capitol, natural fiber for Architectural and Beadboard, and steel for the matte black duplex. Lowe’s also lists light wood plates, and a Walmart listing gives Fairhope as plastic.

Do Cosgrove wall plates come in satin nickel?

Yes. Lowe’s lists 1-gang Cosgrove duplex and decorator plates in satin nickel, alongside oil-rubbed bronze and antique brass. A 2-gang Cosgrove double toggle in satin nickel also turns up on Amazon.

What is Q-Seal on allen and roth plates?

A coating named in the Subway and Bevel listings. Lowe’s describes the Subway plate’s coating as antimicrobial; the Bevel listing names it without more detail.

Where can I buy allen and roth wall plates?

Lowe’s stores and lowes.com carry the current range. Older collections turn up elsewhere: Fairhope on Walmart.com and eBay, and Chatham on a store delivery app.

Were allen and roth wall plates recalled?

One older line was: the Linden and Brainerd Ironton metal plates, in 2016. See the recall notice above.